The Day I Almost Met A Former President

In October of 2012, less than a month before the general election, President Bill Clinton made an appearance at UC Irvine to endorse a few Congressional Candidates as well as a Mayor and State Assembly Members, among them was Mark Takano who went on to become Riverside’s Congressman in the House of Representatives. I had just finished reading President Clinton’s latest book, Back to Work and was determined to get it signed. As soon as I got home that day my mom and I headed out to meet my dad at UC Irvine. Thousands gathered at the University for the rally.

It was on my bucket list to witness President Clinton speak, a true dream of mine. I mean who wouldn’t want to see the President who went into office with the largest budget deficit in the nation’s history and left office with the largest surplus? The President who enacted the Family and Medical Leave Act. The President who expanded the access for college students to more grants and loans. The President who left office with an unemployment rate of just 4%. The President with the most diverse cabinet compared to all 41 of his predecessors. The list of his accomplishments goes on and on and I was not going to miss the once in a lifetime opportunity of being in the same room as him.

Though that same room as him was a huge arena, I still got my chance. President Clinton is one of the best campaigners in history and he used this rally to show off his skills. Every person in attendance left the event more inspired to get out and VOTE on election day, more inspired to fight for a better future. At the end of his speech, President Clinton made his way through a crowd of people cheering “BILL! BILL! BILL!” shaking hands and signing books, pictures, etc. I came about 10 feet from the President, a crowd of people separated us. At least I can say that my copy of Back to Work has been in his presence and have hope for another signing opportunity.

This post follows the announcement by Hillary Clinton that she will make a historic second run for the Presidency of the United States. I wrote this in reflection of the amazing service all 3 Clintons have provided America. I look forward to following the road to the White House of ALL potential candidates and although I am rooting for one person in particular, she shall remain nameless for now.

Standard

3 thoughts on “The Day I Almost Met A Former President

Leave a Reply

